SCIC Reps


Rachael Coulson-Smith

Rachael started at the Duke of Cornwall Spinal Treatment Centre in Salisbury as a Junior Physiotherapist in 2002 and has worked there ever since. She gained an MSc in Health and Rehabilitation in 2012 and became the Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist in 2015.

Bronagh Papenfus

Bronagh has been a qualified physio for 16 years, specialising in neuro rehab for the last 10 years. She is the newly appointed Clinical Specialist and Team Lead Physio in the Belfast Regional Spinal Injury Centre. She has a real passion for spinal injury rehab and loves working within the MDT to try and maximise patients’ function, pushing them towards their goals.

Benita Hexter

Benita is Clinical Specialist and Lead Physiotherapist at the London Spinal Cord Injury Centre, Stanmore and Honorary Clinical Teaching Fellow at University College, London. Her appointments reflect her passion for treating those with spinal cord injury and developing the staff and services which provide for them.

Claire Trask

Claire has been qualified as a physiotherapist for over 30 years and has worked at the Princess Royal Spinal Injuries Centre, Sheffield for nearly 30 years.

Claire Guy

Claire has been qualified since 1984 and has worked in neurorehabilitation throughout most of her career. She has worked clinically and managerially at Stoke Mandeville Hospital with spinal cord injury, and has also spent time in a community setting, and 10 years in specialised brain injury and other neurological conditions. She is currently Principal Physiotherapist in Spinal Injuries based at the Welsh Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation Centre in Cardiff, but linking with acute and community services throughout South Wales. The Centre was relocated to the University Hospital Llandough in June 2021. She is enthusiastic about accessible outdoor sport.

√Čimear Smith

√Čimear is Consultant in Rehabilitation Medicine at the National Rehabilitation & Mater Misericordiae University Hospitals, Dublin since 2009. Sub-specialist clinical interests include paediatric SCI, ventilatory management in SCI, restoration of upper limb function in tetraplegia and the long-term medical complications of SCI. Current research interests include epidemiology of and outcomes following traumatic and non-traumatic SCI, and patient and public involvement in SCI research.

SCI Representatives by Region

 

Belfast

Bronagh Papenfus

Bronagh.Papenfus@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Cardiff

Claire Guy

claire.guy2@wales.nhs.uk

Dublin

Eimear Smith

Eimear.Smith@nrh.ie

Glasgow

Claire Lincoln

Claire.Lincoln@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Middlesbrough

Clare Nixon

c.nixon@nhs.net

Oswestry

Jess Shiel

jessica.sheil@nhs.net

Salisbury

Rachael Coulson-Smith

rachael.coulson-smith@nhs.net

Sheffield

Claire Trask

claire.trask4@nhs.net

Southport

Clare Miller

claremiller1@nhs.net

Stanmore

Benita Hexter

benita.hexter@nhs.net

Stoke Mandeville

Imogen Cotter

i.cotter@nhs.net

Wakefield

Zoe Jeffery

z.jeffery@nhs.net

Wakefield

Fiona Dixon

fiona.dixon2@nhs.net

FOLLOW US

GET THE NEWSLETTER: Become a MASCIP member to subscribe Subscribe